Reviews & Feedback

REVIEWS

Love this place… Firstly I’d like to thank our waitress for seating us and taking our order which arrived after a small wait which was great. I had the ribs and Omg the meat just fell off the bone. Wifey and lil one had burgers which had them full after eating 3 quarters of them they enjoyed the food and dessert. Awesome service and food… Well be back to taste the brisket.

facebook-logo January 14 2017

I’m a big burger and rib fan, missed them a lot over the last several years due to gluten intolerance, but let me tell you folks, the classic I had last night with an extra patti and gf bun was magnificent. Living on the other side of town I’m trying to workout when I can get back. Want another burger but wanna taste them ribs too!

facebook-logo January 18 2017

Had a classic burger, spicy beer batter chips and oreo milkshake and was impressed. The burger was generous and super tasty, the chips had a good crunch and were “spicy” in a flavoursome rather than chilli sort of way and milkshake, although a bit pricey, was amongst one of the best I have ever had!

facebook-logo December 11 2016

I don’t normally write reviews, but I think this one, I guess I can make an exception! 😉 Had amazing food and really friendly staff. Me and my mates ordered the dinosaur ribs expecting it to be crap like most restaurants with barely any meat and 90% bone, but our assumptions were completely wrong and it was really tender and juicy, well-marinated with so much delicious meat falling off the bone! 10/10 would come again. 🙂

facebook-logo November 16 2016

My friend and I have been going to this café for a number of years and it has never let us down service excellent and food even better. Staff are very good a very attentive.

facebook-logo January 19 2017

When me and a good friend of mine came here for a feed I really didn’t know what to expect. But was simply blown away by how well everything tasted. I had the O Mamma burger which consisted of smoked beef, pulled pork and bacon and was just incredible throughout. I would recommend to get it 100%

facebook-logo January 4 2017

I ordered the Naked Cheeseburger and small onion rings. And I can say: Third Wave Cafe truly lives up to the hype.

Their cheeseburger was warm-to-hot – the perfect temperature for a burger. The 150g beef patty was reminiscent of a beautiful, rustic homemade burger – juicy, but also flavoursome and almost crumbly. The simple, authentic ingredients served as a peeled-back backdrop, which let the patty shine. It truly is a “naked” cheeseburger.

Where do I start with the onion rings? I have finally found what my soul has been seeking: the perfect onion ring.
Not burnt. Not overprocessed. Not dry.
Juicy, crispy, tantalising onion rings.

The service was, fast and friendly, yet relaxed.

facebook-logo December 16 2016

ent there with two mates today.

Bloody fantastic, food took about 15 minutes which was pretty quick and it tasted amazing.

Really juicy and the bread held most of the juices like a sponge.

Prices were quite cheap as well given how generous the servings were.

Btw the juicy Lucy is bloody amazing.

facebook-logo December 16 2016

Looking forward to a delicious burger tomorrow guys

facebook-logo August 06 2016

Ordered from Third Wave months ago and now I’m seeing all the vids coming up on my FB! Just reminding me how amazing it is!! All the better they even deliver all the way to Essendon! Will definitely be ordering the beef ribs soon as they look awesome!

facebook-logo June 04 2016

Ordered the reuben sandwich from here today and it was amazing! The meat is cooked very well and tasted delicious! 10/10 would order again 🙂

facebook-logo July 11 2016

Already thinking about my next visit!!! Delicious!!

facebook-logo July 16 2016

Was visiting from Adelaide and a friend recommended this place for burgers. Didn’t disappoint.

facebook-logo June 26 2016

Love it!!! First time here for breakfast. Beautiful coffee and very fresh products. I’m extremely fussy with food. Order egg, bacon, Swiss muffin with the side of avocado & spinach. Nicely presented and tasted amazing. Thanks guys and defiantly be back.

facebook-logo June 19 2016

Had breakfast there, best waffles I’ve had in a long time.

facebook-logo July 4 2016

10/10 friendly service and best burgers around! ❤❤

facebook-logo July 26 2016

The prahran staff are so nice and helpful and the food is very tasty! My partners 30th was a success, satisfied a lot of big hungry men lol

facebook-logo June 13 2016

Ordered the reuben sandwich from here today and it was amazing! The meat is cooked very well and tasted delicious! 10/10 would order again 🙂

facebook-logo July 11 2016

Love it!!! First time here for breakfast. Beautiful coffee and very fresh products. I’m extremely fussy with food. Order egg, bacon, Swiss muffin with the side of avocado & spinach. Nicely presented and tasted amazing. Thanks guys and defiantly be back.

facebook-logo June 26 2016

Went to third wave cafe today with the family for lunch because i have been seeing so much advertising about it and needed to try the ribs, honestly…. i couldent eat the ribs with my hands, they were just falling off the bone and OMG they were amazing, it has been a while since i have had amazing pork ribs but HOLY COW!!! (PIG) THEY WERE AMAZING! ! will be definitely comming back

facebook-logo May 01 2016

Oh mamma burger has to be the best burger ive ever had the pulled pork! please move to adelaide! 5 stars

facebook-logo April 26 2016

Have the Pulled Pork burger with coleslaw but without the mustard and pickles. It is freaking divine. I am going to work my way through the menu.

facebook-logo April 23 2016

Just perfect, my favourite place in Melbourne. Melting ribs and Three Little Piggies is probably the best thing I’ve ever eaten.

facebook-logo Feb 08 2016

The food was amazing! I ordered ribs, brisket and chicken wings for a party and the food was so good it was so tasty and everyone loved it. I highly recommend them to you if u want great food and good service. Thank you I will be coming back again.

facebook-logo Dec 15 2015

I had dinner with a friend tonight after, having their food at one of our events recently which was the talk of the event btw, and they were just as great as the first time. Either for catering or at the cafe these guys are awesome! Love their food, best American BBQ in town! 5 Stars

facebook-logo Dec 13 2015

Definitely the best breakfast in Port Melbourne. Everything on the menu is delish, especially the porridge, breaky muffins and the best coffee in town! Love it here!

facebook-logo Dec 22 2015

Awesome place, heaps of different options on the menu. Love it

facebook-logo June 05 2016

10/10 friendly service and best burgers around!

facebook-logo June 26 2016

Amazing food, drinks and staff! I love the waitress who is there most of the time, she is so kind. Boozy milkshakes and candy bacon are to die for! Thanks Third Wave!

facebook-logo Oct 26 2015

Amazing food and friendly staff. Will be back again!!!!

facebook-logo March 26 2016

Excellent service and delicious ribs, many thanks to Elizabeth in Prahran for helping me.

facebook-logo March 03 2016

We ordered the spicy chicken wings, the pork slider, the candy bacon, corn bread, mushrooms, kipfler potatoes, smokey mac and cheese and the beef brisket. Every mouthful was as good as the first. To the chef – will you marry me?

facebook-logo Sept 10 2015

Delicious, delectable, amazing staff and…just get there and try it. 🙂

facebook-logo May 25 2016

Had breakfast there, best waffles I’ve had in a long time.

facebook-logo July 04 2016

Already thinking about my next visit!!! Delicious!

facebook-logo July 16 2016

So I’ve been hanging to go here for ages, and the wait was well worth it. Instead of being let down by having built it up so much, I was blown away. Super friendly service by the staff who aim to please. But the FOOD! I could have just eaten the pulled pork sliders all night. The three course banquet was a great selection of treats, and was more than the two of us could eat. Highly recomend this place, and will now become regulars! Thanks for a great night

facebook-logo Nov 03 2014

Best Hot Chocolate I’ve had in my life! Service is sensational too!

facebook-logo Feb 15 2015

Bloody brilliant!!! Best slow cooked ribs ever!!!

facebook-logo Feb 07 2016

Delicious food both at breakfast and dinner, will be back again for sure!!

facebook-logo Aug 08 2016

“Brunch extraordinarily good” Met a colleague for a business breakfast. Small restaurant but VERY Clean + Great Coffee + Exceptional food. The standard eggs etc + super fresh porridge and other unique options. A must eat place in Pt Melbourne.

trip_logo Reviewed 5 days ago

“Best ribs in Melbourne!” I’ve been eating breakfasts, lunches and dinners here since this place opened many years ago, so thought it was about time that I reviewed it. I cannot fault Third Wave Port Melbourne-amazing food, huge menu selection, friendly service and great coffee. Best of all, they make the best slow cooked ribs in Melbourne! You don’t need a knife, the meat…

trip_logoReviewed 1 week ago

“Take Away Burgers were fantastic -” We had burgers fries and onion rings twice in a week! Really good burgers fries and onion ring not quite up to the burgers Have not dinned in but takeaway was fast

trip_logoReviewed 4 weeks ago

“Absolutely lovely surprise ” Love it!!! First time here for breakfast. Beautiful coffee and very fresh products. I’m extremely fussy with food. Order egg, bacon, Swiss muffin with the side of avocado & spinach. Nicely presented and tasted amazing. Thanks guys and defiantly be back.

trip_logo19-Jun-16

“A brunch to remember” Just popped in today for a brunch and I have to say the candy bacon was awesome. While the menu sounded sweet, the mix of egg, bacon, avocado and muffin was such a great blend. The hint of chilli added a great roundness to the dish. Definitely going back soon

trip_logo11-Jun-16

“Great Food and Friendly Staff” We’ve eaten there 5 times now and every time the food has been fantastic. The staff are always friendly and I am calling it my favourite local restaurant. The Ribs are juicy and delicious and the burgers are to die for… it’s an A+ for us.

trip_logo19-May-16

“Dinner with a group” Small place so probably a good idea to book, we were seated at a table in the center of the room with stools to sit on, they were pretty uncomfortable. Service was prompt and helpful (we were there early) in our group we had ribs, chicken, brisket, wings, bacon and quesadilla along with some sides. Everyone enjoyed their meat dishes,…

trip_logoMay 1, 2016

“The best ribs ever” What a great little joint!! I Love the menu. The ribs are yum, the beef ribs are the best I have ever had in any restaurant. I would certainly go here again. The service and the ambiance was lovely too.”

trip_logo17-Apr-16

“amazing Baked Eggs for Breakfast” Love this place, always come here for breakfast, occasionally by myself, great relaxing venue and environment with sensational food and great coffee.

trip_logoApril 13, 2016

“A FAVOURITE OF POSS” It is easy to locate and only 5 mins. drive from Melbourne central. Our first experience was September 2015. The novel thing about this eatery is that most of the items on the menu are BBQed. It may not be everyone’s preference but since Poss’s discovery we have been back 3/4 times. The last being Christmas 2015. In September I ordered the ½ Chook with mushrooms side and Poss ordered the Brisket. Both dishes were moist and tender. We shared the salad. The flavours from the meal having been BBQed were tantalising and one of the reasons why the Poss likes coming back I think. The ambience is also pleasant as it is situated one block back from the Bay in Port Melbourne and not on the main drag. Alfresco seating is also available with overhead heaters for the colder nights. On the occasions that we have been there was an average attendance so we found the the service to be fine.

trip_logoMarch 25, 2016

“Good lunch spot ” Went there today for lunch and enjoyed the smoked salmon bagel and coffee. The second coffee was better when I asked for a stronger cup. Friends had a Russian salad and a cabbage roll dish (the latter a generous size) that looked good. My taste sample of theirs tasted good. The place is wheelchair friendly and so were the staff. Nice on a sunny day to sit outside and saw that it was now a restaurant at night as well as a cafe by day. Have not been there for a little while so it was good to go back and see the variety of choices was still there.

trip_logo21-Mar-16

This place does American style BBQ very very well. There was no meat left on the bones when I finished. Very succulent ribs. The best American BBQ restaurant in Melbourne. Good coffee.

trip_logo17-Feb-16

“Best ribs in Australia” I am American and have been living in Australia for 14 years and this place has the best ribs by far than any other place I’ve been to here. The meat is so tender you don’t even need a knife. It’s just falling off the bone! You will not fine another place that makes American style bbq like here!

trip_logo12-Mar-16

“Fantastic” One of the best meals I’ve had in ages. Had the oink balls as a starter, wow they were awesome. Pork mince wrapped in streaky bacon with BBQ sauce ( drool ) . One of the other guys got the Mac n cheese and it was the best I’ve tasted including America. We all orders burgers and they melt in your mouth. The meat was so tender you hardly need to chew. Great meal.

trip_logoMarch 4, 2016

“Fantastic” One of the best meals I’ve had in ages. Had the oink balls as a starter, wow they were awesome. Pork mince wrapped in streaky bacon with BBQ sauce ( drool ) . One of the other guys got the Mac n cheese and it was the best I’ve tasted including America. We all orders burgers and they melt in your mouth. The meat was so tender you hardly need to chew. Great meal.

trip_logoMarch 2, 2016

“Weekend treats” Love this cafe, close to home, they say: make yourself at home. Great service, friendly with a smile. Great coffee and plenty choices for delicious meals. The best scrambled egg breakky muffin, candy bacon yummy, any type of bread you please, water at the table before you ask and evening dining is a whole different tasty experience by itself. BBQ meats, fish, piggy burger, nice side dishes too. Outside and inside comfortable seating every day of the week! Enjoy

trip_logo30-Jan-16

This is my go to for breakfast (the Candy Bacon is almost impossible to pass up) but I went from dinner the other night. I’ve been trying all sorts of BBQ restaurants lately and I LOVED the beef ribs at Third Wave. They didn’t even need the sauce!

trip_logo12-Dec-15

We came hungry and left satisfied. We ordered pork ribs, beef ribs and brisket. All were presented beautifully and tasted even better. Pork ribs could have used a sweet, rich glaze, but the beef ribs and brisket were bold, with excellent texture. Save room for dessert. The ice cream sandwich is awesome!

trip_logo16-Oct-15

Third wave is our most frequented breakfast joint in Port Melbourne and the baked eggs never fail to satisfy. Highly recommended.

trip_logo11-Oct-15

Nice all round eatery. Coffee good, food tasty. They made it a nice sunny day which made things just right. Free Wifi so I updated my apps.

trip_logo19-Sep-15

“We were told about this restaurant by a friend you said they had the best deserts, so we decided to try it, my husband loves ribs and ever since he tried their ribs he will never order anything else, he love the pork ribs, I love the beef ribs, they are the most tender melt in your mouth ribs I have ever tasted on par to the best restaurant ribs in America, the candy bacon is super delicious also along with the corn bread, in fact everything we have orders has been super delicious and the service is nothing less of excellent. The only thing I can fault is that the place is small although they do have an outside area but if its really cold you wouldn’t want to be sitting outside because even with the heaters running it still is chilly, you must book in advance as the restaurant is always full, customers all look happy and we have been there quite a few times and never disappointed. The first we went was for our one year Wedding Anniversary in April and since then we have been back 3 times more, we don’t live nearby so its quite an outing to go.

trip_logoAugust 18, 2015

With a group with varied tastes, we decided to try this restaurant that offered both Russian food and American BBQ. We were not disappointed. The candy bacon was deliciously decadent. The smoked brisket was tender and flavorful. Ditto the lamb shoulder. We split a large side of coleslaw between three, and that was plenty of food. The blinis were also excellent. We made a reservation, which was definitely needed on a Sunday night because the place was completely full by 6:30. Excellent wine list. Very good experience all round.

trip_logo17-Feb-16

Last year I celebrated my birthday at Third Wave Cafe with my friends and earlier this year I have been lucky enough to be invited to my very first zomato meet up. If you are interested in Third Wave Cafe origin check out my last review. I’m so excited to meet other bloggers such as Jenny from Confession of a Little Piggy, Daisy from Escort and Thief and many more, there are also several zomato personnel. I finally met Greg, the owner of Third Wave Cafe. We started with The Hit man or Woman – kahlua, baileys with a whack of espresso milkshakes ($16) and Better Sneakers Bar – caramel ice cream, peanut butter, caramel, cocoa milkshakes. Both of them are super delicious and creamy, better than any other freak shakes I have tasted. Love their ribs especially their beef briskets. We stayed for hours at Third Wave Cafe because we had so much fun and Greg has been a great host with generous food. Third Wave Cafe certainly have one of the best ribs in Melbourne and this won’t be my last time visiting them.

trip_logo17-Feb-16

“We came for dinner and had some burgers and one of the paleo menu’s. We read some reviews beforehand and were not disappointed! We loved the food, especially the spicy candy bacon as a starter. We will definitely come back! Just delicious!

trip_logo17-Feb-16

“Twice this week. Always offering top quality local produce. I reckon this place offers the best salmon in town. Beautiful smoked salmon. Always, a must like breakfast today on a beautiful of beautiful salads, poached eggs. Lunch specials, chicken was awesome with a simple Russian salad made of potatoes / peas. Coffee from five senses always complete s delightful, satisfying meal for me. Only wish is, would be nice if its BYO.

trip_logo17-Feb-16

Lunch was a very relaxing affair. The food was tasty and Third Wave offers specials and does home delivery as well. Worth trying. Look behind Coles.

trip_logo17-Feb-16

Lunch was a very relaxing affair. The food was tasty and Third Wave offers specials and does home delivery as well. Worth trying. Look behind Coles.

trip_logo17-Feb-16

I made my order all the way from the UK for my friends birthday (as a surprise) in Melbourne. I have added some extra instructions to the order, such as (removing invoice and wishing my friend a happy birthday). The instructions were applied even better that wanted, the driver wished my friend happy birthday in person, as well as a writing on the order wishing him a happy birthday. Delivery time was so precise to the minute! wanted it to be delivered at 07:00 pm and it was delivered exactly at 07:00! I ordered the beef ribs, chicken wings and potatoes which my friend had loved all. Even the beer was delivered freezing cold. To be honest, these lads apparently know how to take care of their business and I highly recommend it. Thank you for everything you have done to make my friend’s days, and I am keeping my promise of visiting your restaurant the first thing when I visit Australia

menulog March, 2015

The meats were beautifully cooked and the sauces were superb. Very, very tasty and enjoyable, well priced and delivers to a wide area too. This place is a winner!

menulog September, 2015